BIGPTHEGOAT

current musical aesthetic

I'm going to stream of conscious my thoughts on my current musical aesthetic/taste for the purpose of finding out if there's a thread I can find or connect with respect to my developing musical vision.

So first, can we all agree that jungle/dnb/uk garage/jersey/breakcore are all the same right? I think so at least. They exist in the same bpm and often carry similar sonic palettes. Actually I don't know what bpm jersey beats exist at but it feels correct that they slot in there. Somewhere in there I think uk drill connects into it somehow but im not sure. I feel like it's related to the tresillo pattern but I really haven't bothered to check. UK drill connects to the heavier side through distortion so we have drift phonk and whatever haarper is. Adjacent is trap probably altho nowadays I feel like what does that even mean? 808 and a dream? Oh, for the jungle/breakcore side there's a connect to shoegaze/ambient/noise stuff. And then next to trap is hip hop I guess and rnb. I don't really know how edm slots in here but for me at least, glitch hop is next to hip hop, and then dubstep is probably next to the glitch hop altho I begin to not differentiate anything in there. Future bass probably next to dubstep? Back to the uk garage, I think this is where house slots in for me. And then you can probably traverse the house genres through the edm-verse and eventually link it to future bass. To be honest, I think that about covers my current tastes. I think some stuff like minimalism (think balmorhea) and funk/jazz/fusion (snarky puppy etc.) is kinda hard to fit in. Wait nevermind, you can slot funk/jazz/fusion somewhere adjacent to hiphop/rnb easily. Minimalism probably some weird extension of the house zone? Honestly this one is probably the hardest to place because I don’t even have a good definition for it.

Okay and that's about all the genres I care to even name off the top of my head. There's probably a bunch of other genres that probably get formed as a combination of these genres/elements but we get there when we get there. In my brain, I'm kind of seeing 3 hazy main groups: edm, 150+ bpm stuff, and hiphop-ish. I don't really know what dividing stuff into these groups do for me but at least I have a bird's eye view now (I guess????). If I were pressed, I guess I would say that I want these three groups represented in my next EP. So maybe actually, one thing we can start doing is just start producing songs in these spaces. Or actually, I can probably just group elements to learn in each of these three spaces.

Wait, we have to also consider 88rising-core. I want to make 88rising-core out of whatever the fuck I just wrote above. I don't even know how to do that LMAO. What if I just started making remixes with artists I identify as "88rising" and see where it goes? Kinda like that dj snake audrey nuna song, damn right pt 2. Actually for that matter, the best way to build my portfolio might be remixes and covers.

Anyways, I don't know if this is particularly coherent but that's my current musical aesthetic.